Skip to content

InboxServe Review

Visit InboxServe

Shared support inbox for Shopify teams that attaches order context to each message.

From:
$49/mo
HQ:
NL
Facts checked:

InboxServe is a Shopify help desk built in the Netherlands by ScaleMakers V.O.F. It puts the Shopify order beside the conversation and sells AI as a metered allowance inside four fixed-capacity plans, all billed monthly through Shopify. It is priced like a small-team tool, but the seat caps and the $299 tier where live chat starts decide what you actually pay.

Is it right for your team?

Tick what's true for you.

Points for

Points against

Tick what describes you. We'll weigh it against this review.

What it does

  • Shared inbox for customer email. Gmail and Google Workspace are the only email providers named
  • Shopify order context sits beside the reply: fulfilment, tracking and purchased items for the linked order
  • Multi-store: 1 store on Starter, 3 on Professional, 10 on Business, unlimited on Enterprise
  • Manual AI on every plan: summarize, suggest a reply, adjust tone. The agent inserts, edits and sends
  • Trigger, condition and action workflows on every plan (5 active on Starter), with AI steps such as classify intent and summarize
  • Knowledge base on every plan, capped at 100 articles on Starter and 500 on Professional
  • Analytics covering revenue, orders, refunds, response time, channel volume and contact reasons
  • Live chat, an AI chatbot and a customer portal start at Business ($299/mo, billed monthly)
  • Slack alerts, custom roles, teams, SLA management and data export start at Professional
  • Missing: phone, SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram and Facebook are not mentioned anywhere on the homepage or pricing page. No public API is mentioned either

Pricing at a glance

InboxServe plans and prices
PlanBilled monthlyWhat you get
Starter$492 seats · 1 store · 500 conversations · 250 AI units · 5 active workflows · 100 KB articles.
Professional$1495 seats · 3 stores · 1,500 conversations · 1,500 AI units · 25 active workflows · 500 KB articles.
Business$29910 seats · 10 stores · 5,000 conversations · 5,000 AI units · Unlimited active workflows · Unlimited KB articles.
Enterprise$599Unlimited seats · Unlimited stores · 10,000 conversations · 10,000 AI units · Unlimited active workflows · Unlimited KB articles.

Prices in US dollars. Source: inboxserve.com/pricing, checked .

  • All prices are USD, excluding tax, billed monthly through Shopify. No annual plan is offered
  • Starter $49/mo billed monthly: 2 seats, 1 store, 500 conversations, 250 AI units
  • Professional $149/mo billed monthly: 5 seats, 3 stores, 1,500 conversations, 1,500 AI units
  • Business $299/mo billed monthly: 10 seats, 10 stores, 5,000 conversations, 5,000 AI units, unlimited workflows and KB articles
  • Enterprise $599/mo billed monthly: unlimited seats and stores, 10,000 conversations, 10,000 AI units
  • Overage, paid periods only: $0.05 per extra conversation, $0.02 per extra AI unit
  • A conversation is counted once, on the first successfully sent substantive reply in a Shopify billing period. Inbound messages, internal notes and failed sends are not counted
  • Overage costs less than the allowance. Starter's included conversations work out at about $0.10 each, while extra ones cost $0.05. So Starter at 1,500 conversations costs $99/mo billed monthly before any AI-unit overage, against $149 for Professional
  • That means volume rarely forces an upgrade. Seats and features do. Extra seats, stores, workflows and KB articles cannot be bought
  • The 6th agent moves you from $149 to $299. The 11th moves you from $299 to $599
  • 7-day trial of Business features, run with the AI allowance and capacities of the plan you selected. Trial usage is never billed

AI pricing

  • $0.02 per AI unit past your plan's allowance, billed monthly
  • Most AI actions use 1 unit. Workflow Discovery, KB Insights and Product AI use 3. Some "zero-cost actions" are not charged, but the pricing page does not list them
  • An AI reply can draw on both meters: one AI unit plus a conversation if it is the first substantive reply. Past both allowances, that is $0.07
  • Starter: manual assist only (summarize, suggest a reply, tone)
  • Professional adds automatic triage, tagging, prioritization and sentiment, plus KB Insights
  • Business adds automatic AI replies, knowledge-grounded replies, AI workflow actions, Workflow Discovery, Product AI and the AI chatbot
  • No AI spending cap is published. During the trial, running out of AI units pauses the AI. In paid periods, the pricing page only says extra units are billed
  • What it can't do, as far as these pages show: neither page claims the AI can cancel, refund or edit an order. The homepage pitch is that AI prepares the work and the agent sends
  • "Product AI" and "AI workflow actions" are listed on the pricing page but not explained there

Before you commit

  • Billing runs through Shopify in USD. The pricing page describes no other way to pay, so treat a Shopify store as a requirement until InboxServe says otherwise
  • Prices exclude tax, which matters to EU buyers working out VAT
  • Starter has no data export. If you plan to leave one day, or just want your reporting in a spreadsheet, that is a Professional feature. The plan card calls it "advanced analytics export" and the comparison table calls it "data export", so ask whether conversation history is included
  • Watch day 8. When the trial ends, Business-only automation pauses on lower plans, and you have to turn it back on yourself after upgrading. A team that tested the chatbot and then chose Professional loses it overnight
  • If you pick Starter for the trial, you test Business features with Starter's 250 AI units and 2 seats. Auto-replies can use up those units before the week is over
  • Human replies are never blocked by overage, and no billing cap is published. A busy month raises the bill instead of stopping your replies
  • The homepage describes opening the order to view fulfilment, tracking and items. No refund, cancel or address-change action from the ticket appears on the pages we read
  • Hosting location, security certifications, a DPA, an uptime figure and a status page were not on the pages we could read. Ask before you migrate
  • Support level is "Standard" on Starter and Professional, "Priority" on Business and dedicated onboarding on Enterprise. Hours and response times are not stated
  • Founding year is not stated on the pages we read

Who should buy it, and who should skip it

Who should buy

  • Single-store or small multi-store Shopify brands with 2 to 5 agents working mostly email
  • Teams whose volume grows faster than headcount, since $0.05 conversation overage stays cheap
  • Teams that want AI to draft and classify while a human still sends every reply
  • Brands running up to 10 Shopify stores from one workspace on Business

Who should skip it

  • Anyone not selling on Shopify
  • DTC brands that take a lot of Instagram, Facebook, WhatsApp, SMS or phone contact
  • Teams that need live chat but cannot justify $299 a month
  • Teams of 6 to 10 agents who want Professional's feature set, and teams of 11 or more who would pay $599 for seats alone
  • Buyers who want AI that changes the order, not just explains it
  • Anyone whose procurement needs security documentation, annual invoicing or non-USD billing before signing

How we checked this

Prices, allowances, overage rates, plan gates and trial terms were read from InboxServe's own pricing page (inboxserve.com/pricing) on 2026-10-07. The figures are in the page text, not drawn by script. The page repeats its plan table twice, and both copies agree. There is no billing toggle, and the page states monthly billing only. Product capabilities, integrations and the company's legal name and address come from the InboxServe homepage, checked the same day. Our fetch tool could not reach any other InboxServe page, so the features pages, help center, privacy policy, terms and any status page were not read. Security, data hosting, uptime, API access and order-editing actions are therefore listed as unverified, not assumed. The homepage's customer quotes were not used. We did not use InboxServe's Shopify App Store listing for prices. No review-site text was used.

Sources

Facts last checked on .