Skip to content

Gorgias Review

Visit Gorgias

Gorgias is the help desk to shortlist first if you sell on Shopify, most of your tickets are "where is my order" and "change my address", and you want the AI to actually do those things rather than describe them.

Some links to vendors on this page are referral links. If you buy through one, the vendor pays us a commission at no cost to you. Commissions never change a ranking, a score or what we write.

From:
$40/mo
Founded:
2015
HQ:
San Francisco, US
Last update:
Facts checked:

Our verdict

Gorgias is the help desk to shortlist first if you sell on Shopify, most of your tickets are "where is my order" and "change my address", and you want the AI to actually do those things rather than describe them. It is priced by ticket volume with unlimited agents, which suits a lean team with seasonal spikes and punishes nobody for adding seats, and it prints its AI price per interaction instead of hiding it behind a call. Look elsewhere if you need phone as a first-class channel in the base price, if your customers are businesses with contracts rather than shoppers, or if a jump from $90 to $550 a month between plan sizes is hard to absorb.

Gorgias calls itself the conversational AI platform for ecommerce, and for once the positioning matches the product. It was built around the Shopify order, and that shows in the two places that matter to a DTC support team: what an agent can do without leaving the ticket, and what the AI is allowed to do without an agent at all.

Is it right for your team?

Tick what's true for you.

Points for

Points against

Tick what describes you. We'll weigh it against this review.

What it does

  • Shared inbox pulling email, live chat, Instagram and Facebook DMs, WhatsApp, and a help-center contact form
  • Agents work the Shopify order from inside the ticket: create, duplicate, cancel, refund, edit (up to 60 days), draft order, change address, tag, check stock
  • WHEN/THEN rules, 24 detected intents and sentiment on every plan, so routing and tagging do not need the AI subscription
  • Macros, SLAs, CSAT, a branded help center, auto-translation, five fixed roles, a 12-month audit log and a REST API, all on the entry plan
  • Missing: phone and SMS are paid add-ons, not channels in the base price

Pricing at a glance

Gorgias plans and prices
PlanBilled monthlyBilled annuallyWhat you get
Starter$40–50 tickets and 30 AI automated interactions a month.
Basic$90$77300 tickets and 30 AI automated interactions a month.
Pro$550$4712,000 tickets and 190 AI automated interactions a month.
Advanced$1,430$1,2275,000 tickets and 530 AI automated interactions a month.
EnterpriseContact sales–Custom volume, quoted.

Prices are a month, in US dollars. Source: gorgias.com/pricing, checked ; docs.gorgias.com/en-US/legacy-pricing-for-helpdesk-and-ai-agent…, checked .

  • Two meters at once: tickets and AI interactions, with unlimited agents on every plan. The headline price is help desk and AI Agent added together
  • The gap that catches people: nothing sits between Basic's 300 tickets and Pro's 2,000, a jump from $90 to $550. Basic plus overage stays cheaper until roughly 1,450 tickets a month
  • AI past your allowance costs $1.50 per automated interaction, printed on every plan. Voice and SMS add-on prices are not published

Full Gorgias pricing: add-ons, overage and AI costs

What the AI Agent can do

  • What it can do that most cannot: cancel an order, edit the shipping address, swap or remove an item, reship free, add an order note
  • What it can't do: refund on its own, touch a fulfilled order, or cancel at a 3PL without ShipStation, ShipMonk or ShipBob connected

Before you commit

  • Voice and SMS add-on prices are the one thing Gorgias does not publish - ask before the trial ends
  • Custom SSO is OpenID Connect only and starts at Advanced, which is $1,430 a month billed monthly
  • No published uptime percentage; the status page showed six incidents in the 90 days to 2026-09-15
  • The mobile app cannot take calls or send images and links, and notifies only during business hours
  • Data-residency options are not stated; SOC 2 Type II and HIPAA compliance are

Who should buy it, and who should skip it

Who should buy

  • Shopify or Shopify Plus brands where most tickets are about an order
  • Teams that want AI to change the order, not just explain how to
  • Lean teams with seasonal peaks, since unlimited agents means hiring does not move the bill

Who should skip it

  • Phone-first support teams
  • B2B sellers with named accounts and contract SLAs
  • Anyone needing SAML, custom roles, a sandbox or an uptime SLA on paper
  • Shops sitting between 300 and 2,000 tickets who would rather not do overage arithmetic every month

How we checked this

Prices and allowances were read from Gorgias's rendered pricing page on 2026-09-17, transcribed from screenshots because that table is drawn in JavaScript; everything else was checked against Gorgias's own pages on 2026-09-15. An earlier version of this review was wrong: it took the plan table from Gorgias's Shopify App Store listing, which prices the help desk alone and leaves the AI Agent out, so every figure was low. That is why we now read prices only from the vendor's own rendered pricing page. No review-site text was used.

Channels

How each channel is delivered, and the plan it starts on. Native, through an integration, or absent.

  • Contact form and widgetOn every planfrom Startersource

    Help center contact form.

  • EmailOn every planfrom Startersource

    Core channel on every plan.

  • Live chatOn every planfrom Startersource

    Native chat widget; 14 widget languages.

  • PhonePaid add-onfrom Starter (Voice add-on)source

    Voice add-on on any plan, from $25 a month on annual pricing, in tiers that rise with call volume; a conversation becomes a Voice ticket when a call connects. IVR menus, call queues and routing, recording and transcription (pricing page, rendered 2026-10-29; feature detail also in helpcenter.gorgias.com guide-to-gorgias-voice-190713).

  • SMSPaid add-onfrom Starter (SMS add-on)source

    SMS add-on on any plan, from $17 a month on annual pricing, in tiers that rise with text volume; a conversation becomes an SMS ticket when a text is exchanged. Two-way SMS, MMS, international sending, opt-out compliance (pricing page, rendered 2026-10-29; number porting per docs.gorgias.com sms-add-on-101-197386).

  • Social DMsOn every planfrom Startersource

    Instagram DMs, comments and mentions; Facebook Messenger. TikTok Shop integration excludes TikTok DMs.

  • WhatsAppOn every planfrom Startersource

    Native via Meta; unverified businesses limited to 2 numbers and 250 business-initiated conversations per 24h. Plan gating not stated.

Checked on the vendor’s own pages, .

AI and automation

What the AI does, what it costs, and what the desk automates without it.

  • Agent copilotOn every planfrom Startersource

    Gaia, the agent-side AI teammate, opened to every account in beta per the changelog.

  • AI agent (customer-facing)Paid add-onfrom Starter (AI Agent subscription)source

    Customer-facing AI Agent on email, chat, SMS, Instagram, Messenger, WhatsApp (beta). Learns from help center, site, documents and Shopify data; hands over on low confidence, sensitive topics or frustration. 80+ languages. Priced per automated interaction: bundled allowance on each plan, then $1.50 each (gorgias.com/pricing, 2026-09-17).

  • AI agent takes actionsPaid add-onfrom Starter (AI Agent subscription)source

    Cancel order, edit shipping address, remove or replace an item, reship free, add order note. Unfulfilled orders only; no refunds as an AI action; 3PL cancellations need ShipStation, ShipMonk or ShipBob. Priced per automated interaction: bundled allowance on each plan, then $1.50 each (gorgias.com/pricing, 2026-09-17).

  • AI pricing publishedOn every planfrom Startersource

    $1.50 per automated interaction past the plan allowance, printed on every plan on the pricing page, alongside the included allowance (30 on Starter and Basic, 190 on Pro, 530 on Advanced). Recorded from screenshots of the rendered page, 2026-09-17, because the table is drawn in JavaScript.

  • Automation rulesOn every planfrom Startersource

    WHEN/THEN rules on every plan; a rule auto-reply makes a ticket billable, which is how the billing doc treats rules as standard.

  • Intent detection and routingOn every planfrom Startersource

    24 intents and 3 sentiments detected on all Helpdesk plans; used by rules to tag, route and prioritise.

  • Macros and saved repliesOn every planfrom Startersource

    Macros with variables; import and export. Plan gating not stated.

Checked on the vendor’s own pages, .

Strengths

  • Priced by ticket volume with unlimited agents, from $40 a month for 50 tickets and 30 AI interactions; you can add seasonal staff without a bill change.
  • The AI price is on the page: $1.50 per automated interaction past your allowance, on every plan. Most of the category makes you ask.
  • The AI Agent takes real Shopify actions (cancel, address edit, item swap, free reship) and hands over on frustration or low confidence, in 80+ languages.
  • Agents work orders from the ticket: create, duplicate, cancel, refund, edit, draft order, address, tags, stock, without opening Shopify.
  • Rules, 24 detected intents, SLAs, CSAT, help center and a REST API with published rate limits are on every plan, including Starter.
  • Public status page with real incident history, SOC 2 Type II report, and a changelog that ships two or three entries a week.

Trade-offs

  • Phone and SMS are paid add-ons on every plan, billed per Voice or SMS ticket, and those add-on prices are the ones Gorgias still does not publish.
  • Going over your allowance costs roughly 2.4 times the rate you already pay per included ticket, and AI interactions past the allowance cost $1.50 against the $0.90 they cost inside it.
  • Starter and Basic both include only 30 AI interactions a month, so a 300-ticket shop on Basic automates a tenth of its volume before the meter starts.
  • Custom SSO is OpenID Connect only and starts at Advanced, which is $1,430 a month billed monthly.
  • The mobile app cannot take calls or send images or links, and only notifies during business hours.

Compare Gorgias

What’s new in Gorgias

The latest from Gorgias’s own changelog, linked to each post.

All 16 Gorgias updates